Tiger Paw

The Lawrenceburg Athletic Hall-of-Fame Class for 2022 will feature eight inductees: Jerry Bowell (Coach), Glenn Crocker (Coach), Chris Dyer (Athlete), Denver Kennett (Athlete), Bob Meyer (Contributor), JoAnn Morrison (Athlete), Leo Seitz (Athlete), Brian Way (Athlete). 

The inductees will be honored at a public ceremony on Saturday, October 1, 2022 in the Lawrenceburg High School Auditorium at 7:30. All Tiger fans are welcome to attend. 

Jerry Bowell 

Jerry Bowell made his way to Lawrenceburg in 1968. It didn’t take Coach Bowell long to develop his love and passion for Tiger athletics as Jerry started the first middle school football team in 1969 at Greendale Middle School. In 1971 Jerry moved over to LHS where he was a Biology teacher and Tiger football assistant coach under the legendary Coach Dick Meador. Coach Bowell was also responsible for starting the first Wrestling Team at Lawrenceburg High School in 1971. In 1974 Coach Bowell left the education profession to pursue a career in business. After exploring the business world for 10 years, Coach Bowell returned to his passion of teaching and coaching in 1984 at Lawrenceburg High School. Coach Bowell became the Head Wrestling Coach as well as the leader of the 9th grade Tiger football program where he found his calling in developing future Tiger Football players. From 1984 Jerry spent the next 22 years as a college prep and AP Biology Teacher at Lawrenceburg High School. 

Glenn Crocker  

Glenn Crocker was a dedicated Teacher, Athletic Director, and Coach for 38 years at Lawrenceburg High School. Glenn was the Lawrenceburg High School Athletic Director for 13 years, Head Tiger Football Coach for 17 years (125-66). Glenn was an Assistant Football Coach for nine years, Head Wrestling Coach for six years. Glen also was the Head Girls Basketball Coach for four years and Head Girls Tennis Coach for five years. Glenn was also  an Assistant Coach for Tigers on all their State Runner-Up and Championship teams. Glenn also led the Tigers to the State Title game in 1985 as the Head Coach. Glenn is also a member of the IHSAA Wrestling Hall-of-Fame as an official. 

Chris Dyer 

Class of 1989. Chris was an outstanding athlete in three sports at LHS, Baseball, Basketball and Football. Chris was a three year letter winner in Basketball and Football and a four year letter winner in Baseball. In Basketball Chris was a two year starter, Most Improved in 1988, All-Conference in 1989 and played in the 40/8 All-Star game. In Baseball Chris was a four year starter. He was All-Conference in 1988 & 1989. Chris led the team in batting average in 1989 hitting .446. Chris was selected as the Team MVP in 1989. The Tiger Baseball Team was EIAC Champs in 87’, 88’, 89’. They were back to back Sectional Champions in 88’, 89’. In Football, Chris was a three year starter. Chris tied the interception record in 1986 with 6 interceptions and had 13 total for his career. Chris was All-Conference in 1987 and 1988. Chris was Bloomington Herald All-State Honorable Mention in 1986. In 1987 Chris was named to the Who’s Who in America - High School Football and again was Bloomington Herald All-State Honorable Mention. In 1988 Chris was UPI 1st Team All-State, Bloomington Herald 1st Team All-State, AP Honorable Mention All-State, Neary Trophy & O’Neil Trophy (Team MVP & Defensive MVP) award winner. During Chris’s  playing time, the Tiger Football team won three EIAC’s, and two Sectional Championships. After High School Chris went on to be a four year letter winner at Indiana University in Football. 

Denver Kennett

Class of 1964 - LCHS. Denver was a State Champion in Track & Field in the High Jump. Denver was a member of Pat O’Neil’s first undefeated season. Denver was an All-EIAC Conference performer in Track and Football. Denver was a three time EIAC High Jump & Long Jump Champion. Three time EIAC 440 yard dash Champion. Two time EIAC 4x400 relay team. Denver also led the Tiger Basketball Team in scoring for two years. His Senior year, Denver averaged 22.9 PPG. Denver also led the Basketball Team in rebounding and free throw % for two years. Denver had a 39 point performance in Basketball his Senior year. After Denver’s days at LCHS he earned a full track scholarship to the University of Kentucky. Denver was the SEC High Jump Champion his Freshman year. Denver was a teacher and coach at LCHS from 1970-1979. Denver retired from Education as a Principal in 2000.

Bob Meyer 

A distinguished 32 year career as a Teacher, Coach, Athletic Director and Assistant Principal. Bob Meyer was in Administration & the Athletic Director for 16 of those years. Bob sought to involve all students in extracurricular activities both athletically and co-curricularly. He believed that “busy students make better students.” As Athletic Director Bob worked very hard to bring gender equality to LHS. Bob also played a major role in bringing boys and girls Soccer to LHS. Bob was dedicated to Lawrenceburg Community Schools his entire career. Bob was an excellent ambassador for the school and community. 

JoAnn Morrison 

Class of 1986. A 16 Varsity Letter Award winner (only athlete boy or girl to achieve), a 4.0 GPA and Salutatorian of her class. JoAnn was a four year letter winner in the following sports: Volleyball, Basketball, Track & Field, and Tennis. JoAnn was the MVP in Volleyball her Senior year. She was the Track MVP her Sophomore, Junior and Senior years. JoAnn was an All-EIAC performer in Volleyball, Track and Field and Tennis. JoAnn was a High Jump Regional qualifier in Track. In Basketball JoAnn had a game high of 32 points in one game vs South Dearborn. JoAnn continued her education at Purdue and studied Veterinary Medicine. 

Leo Seitz

Class of 1962 - LCHS. Leo was a three sport athlete at LCHS. Leo participated in Football, Track, and Baseball. Leo was All-Conference in Football his Junior & Senior years. As a Sophomore Leo was Honorable Mention All-Conference. Leo threw Shot for the Track & Field Team all four years. Leo also was the catcher on the Baseball team all four years. Leo continued his academic and athletic career at Ball State University from 1962-1965. Leo was a four year starter at Ball State. Leo was inducted to the Ball State Athletic Hall of Fame in 2014. Leo also had two professional careers in Football and Wrestling. Leo found his love for coaching from Pat O’Neil and Coached in the NFL as well as the High School level. 

Brian Way

Class of 1979. Brian earned 10 Varsity letters while at Lawrenceburg. Brian was a four year letter winner in Golf, three year letter winner in Basketball and a three year letter winner in Football. Brian was an EIAC All-Conference performer in Golf, Basketball and Football. Upon graduation Brian held the following records: Most Touchdown passes in a game with four. Longest Touchdown run of 92 yards. Longest Kick-off-return for a Touchdown, 86 yards. Most Touchdowns in a game with five. Brian only lost two games in his High School Football career. Brian was a part of the 1976 State Runner-Up and the 1978 State Championship Team. Brian was selected as the 1978 Phil Eskew Mental Attitude Award Winner, 1978 Hoosier Gridiron Magazine, 1978 Bloomington Herald Top 33, Indiana Football South All-Star Team. After High School Brian attended Ball State on a Football scholarship. 

The Lawrenceburg Athletic Hall-of-Fame was created during the 2018-2019 school year. The Hall-of-Fame committee  meets annually to select the next year's class. If you have a nominee you would like to nominate, please go to the following link to nominate your Hall-of-Fame Tiger: https://forms.gle/EjQN7kXoiyQUmQS77